Lionel Messi and Megan Rapinoe crowned The Best Fifa men’s and women’s player in Milan.

Messi, who helped Barcelona won the Spanish La Liga last season scored 36 league goals more than anyone else in Europe, has been crowned the Best Fifa men’s player of the year for the sixth time.

It is the sixth time Messi has been voted the world’s best, after wins in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015, now regarding him move one ahead of Juventus star Cristiano Ronaldo.

The Barcelona superstar defeated Champions League winner and Nations League finalist Virgil Van Dijk plus Nations League and Serie A winner Cristiano Ronaldo to claim the award, proving once again that his unique ability is sufficient to surpass all possible contestants.

He said after receiving the award: “I want to thank everyone who decided to give me this recognition,

“For me, individual awards are secondary and the collective comes first.

“But today is a special day for me.

“I have my wife and children here, and it’s the first time they’ve come.

“Having them here to enjoy this is priceless.

“They love football and they’re watching everyone around them shyly.”

Though the living legend is currently in his 32 years of age, his individual performance was masterful once again, guiding his club of more than ten years to another LaLiga title, Copa del Rey final and Champions League semi-final as the team captain

He scored 51 goals last season and contributed 19 assists, and it seemed the depressing Champions League elimination could have affected the vote, despite having topped the competition’s scoring charts with 12 goals, but the Argentine has done it yet again. 

On a national level, He led Argentina to a third-place finish in the Copa America, although not without it’s a fair share of controversy, claiming the CONMEBOL was rigged.

The pair have dominated the award since 2008, with their sequence of victories only disrupted by Luka Modric last year.

It was the second award of the night for the Argentinean forward, who was also included in the men’s team of the 2018-19 season – as voted for by their fellow professionals.

Fifa Fifpro Men’s Team of the Year

Fifa Fifpro Men’s Team of the Year of 2019.

Goalkeeper  Alisson (Liverpool/Brazil)

Defenders  Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax and Juventus/Netherlands), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid/Spain), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool/Netherlands), Marcelo (Real Madrid/Brazil).

Midfielders  Luka Modric (Real Madrid/Croatia), Frenkie de Jong (Ajax and Barcelona/Netherlands), Eden Hazard (Chelsea and Real Madrid/Belgium)

Forwards  Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain/France), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus/Portugal), Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina)

Reports show: Messi voted for Sadio Mane but Ronaldo didn’t pick Messi in his top three.

The Juventus forward Cristiano Ronaldo spent his Monday evening relaxing at home in Turin rather than travelling to Milan for FIFA’s The Best gala, and he dipped into philosophy on Instagram.

The No.7 finished third in Best men’s player for 2019, but his message on social media suggests that he’s going to come back fighting.

The statements connote: “Patience and persistence are two characteristics that differentiate the professional from the amateur,” he captioned a photo of him reading on his sofa, with his eldest son doing homework in the background.

“Everything that is great today started small.

“You can’t do everything, but do everything possible to make your dreams come true.

“And keep in mind that dawn always comes after night.”

Eighteen-year-old Daniel Zsori won the Puskas award for the best goal with his spectacular 93rd-minute overhead kick for Debrecen against Ferencvaros, just after he came on as a substitute for his Hungarian league debut in February.

His strike beat Messi’s chip from the edge of the penalty area against Real Betis and Juan Quintero’s powerful 30-yard free-kick for River Plate against Racing Club.

Below is the Daniel Zsori goal that won him the Puskas award ahead of Lionel Messi:

Now, he’s favourite to go on and win the Ballon d’Or, as happened with Ronaldo twice and Luka Modric in 2018.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here